top of page

Cutthroat Cafe, Bailey, CO

Somewhere in the hills of south of Denver, I discovered gold.

Gold in the form of the most delicious french toast I have ever consumed in my life. Yes that is a bold statement, but as of June 22nd 2017, it is true.

While working on a shoot in Colorado, we took a break from the long hotel breakfast lines and ventured out to the closest (and only open) cafe to where we were based: The Cutthroat Cafe.

(How much do we love that they open at "5:00ish")

As a night owl, there is rarely anything that can impress me at 7:00am, and during this week I was on a detox, so I wasn't drinking caffeine, so I would have happily forgone breakfast to have gotten an extra hour of sleep.

As the rest of the table chugged the "really delicious" coffee, I sipped my water & perused the menu. The first thing I clocked was obviously the French Toast (Chip's French Toast), it came in a serving of 2 slices or 3 slices. We had a long shoot day ahead of us and I figured I might as well fuel up.

I was so exhausted that I barely managed to mumble my order of 3 slices of Chip's French Toast with a side of bacon to the very pleasant waitress. Then I played the waiting game.

I wish I took photos of the actual cafe itself. It was a week day morning, but it was pretty busy with regulars enjoying their meals and each other's company, I didn't feel comfortable waving around my phone to snap photos, this place felt special. The decor was a variety of fishing and camping signs, with different odes to the town of Bailey and the various outdoor activities they have to offer.

In under 10 minutes our food was being delivered to us with a big welcoming smile

The fact that the french toast was so good caught me so off guard, partly because I was basically sleepwalking until I took the first bite.

One of my fellow crew-mates suffered from what I call "Chronic Food Envy", meaning that no matter what food he ordered, he always felt like what someone else at the table had might have tasted better.

I can unequivocally say, in this case, his omelette didn't have squat on this beautiful decadence that was Chip's French Toast. I couldn't convey to the rest of the table how delicious the french toast was. Every forkful was fluffy and buttery. The egg wash was perfectly coated and every bite deserved the same pomp and circumstance as the previous. I could never have dreamed of french toast that tasted this delicious.

Presentation:

I took half a point off, because the plate was a little plain. I have grown accustomed to garnishes and extra accoutrements on my plate. The neatness of the plain toast was refreshing. Some powdered sugar could have added something extra to the plate, but I really enjoyed the simplicity of the plate overall.

Taste:

This was beyond delicious. The texture of the toast was heavenly, the feel was so light I was worried it was going to float off my plate. I could not shut up about this french toast. This is the high point I will be chasing for the rest of my french toast eating days.

Price:

Under $7. LESS THAN SEVEN DOLLARS FOLKS!

I think they should be charging way more, like a first born, or a kidney for even a bite of this beautiful breakfast food, but some say I am prone to exaggeration.

Overall:

I had never been to Bailey before this trip, despite having lived in Colorado on and off for about five years. I can honestly say that the next time I'm in the Mile High City, I will be making a day trip to Bailey to chase this fluffy, golden high.

bottom of page