top of page

Cimboco's French Toast - Cimboco, Grand Cayman

I was watching my god-children this weekend and hadn't been to this local haunt in about 7 years and thought it was time to revisit for a Saturday morning breakfast.

Cimboco was the perfect spot for a post-late lie-in breakfast - they serve breakfast until 3 so when we strolled in at 2:10pm requesting breakfast no one batted an eyelash. I heard rumblings that on the weekend it was near impossible to get a table inside; but thanks to the massive downpour on this weekend we were able to get a spacious booth inside as we walked in. Colorful decor, friendly staff and a giant brick pizza oven with a fiery mosaic design, walking in here definitely changed the tone of the day offering quite a contrast to the grey sky and flooded streets outside.

The kids menu is quite limited, kids bacon and eggs combo, kids French toast and a kids breakfast pizza, my little munchkins opted for the kids "French toast with whipped cream" I was worried about the look, because it has the look of giant fried fish fillets, so I was definitely surprised when I saw it arrive, my genuine reaction was "oh no, it's French toast chicken fingers" I was mainly worried that I would be stuck with that heavy feeling in my stomach but after one bite all those worries were gone.

The size difference is the only difference between the two meals. The kids French toast with whipped cream is about a half portion of the regular one.

Taste

The French toast is fluffy and I have no idea how they make it so beautifully even on the outside it was great combination of fluffy inside and a light crisp outside. The whipped cream compliments it beautifully, in fact, I don't think that it would taste as good without it.

Presentation

I was not thrilled when I first saw the French toast, but it was unique and it worked, especially for the little ones.

Price

Just under $10 for the regular and $5.50 for the kids serving. I was pleasantly surprised by the quantity of food that arrived.

Overall:

Really impressed with everything about this French toast. It was definitely not what I went in expecting. I really want to know how they make this French Toast, but their menu says that it's a secret. It's also one of the island's best kept secrets, definitely not a bad place to spend a rainy Saturday.


bottom of page