top of page

Hemingway's Cinnamon Raisin French Toast - Providenciales

This was breakfast with a view. While in Providenciales, Turks & Caicos for work, my co-worker and I stumbled upon Hemingway's by accident after a busy morning of events we were looking for a breakfast spot, but it was nearing 10:30 so we realistically knew it would be more of a lunch spot.

We found Hemingway's online and their menu said "Breakfast until 11:00", those were the magic words. I told my co-worker that I would drive and I Mad-Max-ed us straight to Hemingway's using my breakfast senses and a paper map we had in our glove compartment.

At around 10:48 we walked (I ran) to the hostess stand and me, being very hungry and very rude, without so much as a "good morning", asked: "You still serving breakfast?"

Thankfully my co-worker is way more cordial than I am and explained we hadn't eaten breakfast and were taken by the options we had seen online. She took pity on us and with a smile she sat us at a table closest to the water.

I didn't even have to look at the menu, but if I did, this is what I would have read:

"Cinnamon Raisin French Toast

Two healthy slices of fresh baked cinnamon raisin bread dipped in our secret batter and cooked to perfection served with fresh fruit."

Now, I don't know about you, but this was the first time I had heard of cinnamon raisin french toast and I was flippin' stoked!

The food came quicker than I expected. We had been travelling the Caribbean for a while at this point and had become accustomed to the longer wait times for food, so it was a pleasant surprise when the food came before I started imagining having to go fish for food in the turquoise water.

My first instinct was "ew strawberries and bananas". Don't get me wrong, I love fruit, but I already committed to cinnamon raisin, I didn't need the extra fruit (always read the menu, kids!). But my parents taught me not to waste food, and the chef definitely put them on the plate with a purpose, so I was going to eat them.

Presentation:

Aside from the excess fruit on the plate, the presentation was brilliant. The powdered sugar dusting was light and evenly spread, the french toast was cut into triangles and were so large they spanned the whole plate.

Taste:

The french toast was fluffy, you can definitely taste the freshness of the raisin bread. The cinnamon was perfect, not absent, not overbearing and the bacon was cooked to perfection. The banana and strawberry were unnecessary, but I guess I could count them towards my five-a-day.

Price:

At not far north of $10 US, the price was the best part of this french toast for me. The serving was generous and the quality was great. The oceanside view didn't hurt either.

Overall:

Hemingway's is a great spot for breakfast, and the french toast is great, I would recommend asking them to hold the fruit, so you don't have to look like a picky child when you push your spare garnish to the side.

Author's Note: I did go back the next day and order the french toast without the fruit, the score remains the same.

bottom of page